Nostalgia

These are two of the many pictures my dad took 1985 on a family vacation (one of many) in Italy. In the first one, it’s my brother and me next to each other, and my little sister on the floor –  as always munching on something. It was taken in Volterra, Tuscany.

85 Volterra

My first memories are from those vacations to Italy. Driving down there in our  huge old Mazda. My brother getting carsick.  The pickled eggs my dad made for the drive.  The heat, the smell of herbs in the sun and the sound of cicadas in the gardens of the old farmhouse we lived in. The smell of the big inside-fireplace. The coolness of the dark rooms with the thick stone walls. The little spring close to the house, where my brother caught a fire salamander. The little doll I got for my fourth birthday that summer.  Our trips to the sea, the smell of pine trees and warm sand in the Pineta (second picture). The fat white kernels of the broad beans we ate in the garden. Happy nostalgic memories. 

85 Volterra

2 thoughts on “Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

Un Pedacito de Cuba

El blog de Jocy Medina

Wild Places

The Art of Landscape and Travel Photography

Luca Sartoni - Portfolio

I take pictures, photographic pictures

West Seventh Freelance

Photography, seeking, writing...and learning along the way. Want to come along?!

Life: A Scot in Norway

Landscape, Nature and Travel Photography from Norway and Beyond

JASON WYROSTEK PHOTOGRAPHY

EVERYTHING & NOTHING, ORDER & CHAOS, TRUTH & LIES

So Delushious !

personal random ramblings from a girl who loves bacon and can't be fat.

The Adventures Of Canon 1100D

I take photographs with my Canon eos 1100D. I share my favourites with you.

Rory Alexander in South Africa

My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

rpdpod

a torrent of photos/a drip of words

