Sylt: The Island

If people in Germany say that they’ll go to THE island for vacation, they’re most probably talking about Sylt. It is Germany’s biggest island in the Northern Sea, close to the Danish border. It is one of many islands that line the northern coast of Germany, and became very popular with the German jet-set and upper-class tourists. I just spend a day there a couple of years back. We were staying at the neighboring Danish island Rømø, where rents were just a fraction of the Sylt prices. The islands are connected by a ferry service.
I was positively surprised to find large parts of the dunes and heath landscapes protected as nature reserves and wildlife sanctuaries. The 40 km of white sand beaches are natural and mostly pristine, the little villages original and very typical with cottages and thatched roofs. Westerland (yes, on the west coast) is the island’s only town. Walking on the high dunes with the view of the blue sea in the distance and the blue blue sky above was wonderful. And I have to admit, the glass of champagne we had with our prawns for lunch at the promenade made me feel very jet-setty. I shall return when I’m old and rich.

I just love those new tiled galleries.. do you mind?

Oh, and I took these pictures before I had my DSLR. I used a Canon Powershot.

5 thoughts on “Sylt: The Island

  1. My wife, who lived in Southern Germany years ago, had never heard of Sylt. Now, after I showed her this post, she’s ready to go. We’ve been fantasizing about our next vacation and it now seems like Northern Germany has just made the list. And it’s all your fault. Thanks to your beautiful photos.

    • Wow, I’m flattered! I do hope you will go there! I love northern Germany, the coast of the Baltic sea is really pretty as well! Have fun planning your trip!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Rømø, Denmark « Yoolie's

Leave a Reply

Un Pedacito de Cuba

El blog de Jocy Medina

Wild Places

The Art of Landscape and Travel Photography

Luca Sartoni - Portfolio

I take pictures, photographic pictures

West Seventh Freelance

Photography, seeking, writing...and learning along the way. Want to come along?!

Life: A Scot in Norway

Landscape, Nature and Travel Photography from Norway and Beyond

JASON WYROSTEK PHOTOGRAPHY

EVERYTHING & NOTHING, ORDER & CHAOS, TRUTH & LIES

So Delushious !

personal random ramblings from a girl who loves bacon and can't be fat.

The Adventures Of Canon 1100D

I take photographs with my Canon eos 1100D. I share my favourites with you.

Rory Alexander in South Africa

My experiences living in Cape Town and travelling in Africa

rpdpod

a torrent of photos/a drip of words

